2019/20 Champions League group stage as it stands

Twenty-six sides have confirmed their place in the 2019/20 group stage, led by holders Liverpool.

Atalanta celebrate sealing a place in the UEFA Champions League group stage
Atalanta celebrate sealing a place in the UEFA Champions League group stage ©Getty Images

Twenty-six teams qualify automatically for the group stage of the 2019/20 UEFA Champions League.

The following sides are entitled to go directly into the group stage: the UEFA Champions League winners; the UEFA Europa League winners; the top four in the Spanish, English, Italian and German leagues; France and Russia's top two; and the domestic champions in Portugal, Ukraine, Belgium and Turkey.

However, European champions Liverpool secured a group place for next season through their domestic league. Therefore, the automatic berth allocated to the UEFA Champions League winners passes to the champions of the national association ranked 11th, namely Austria*.

Moreover, the spot reserved for the UEFA Europa League winners will benefit the third-placed club in France** after Chelsea – another team already qualified for the 2019/20 UEFA Champions League via the Premier League – lifted the former trophy in Baku.

The 2019/20 UEFA Champions League group stage as it stands

Barcelona won the 2018/19 Liga title
Barcelona won the 2018/19 Liga title©AFP

ESP: Barcelona, Atlético Madrid, Real Madrid, Valencia
ENG: Manchester City, Liverpool (holders), Chelsea, Tottenham Hotspur
ITA: Juventus, Napoli, Atalanta, Internazionale Milano
GER: Bayern München, Borussia Dortmund, RB Leipzig, Bayer Leverkusen
FRA: Paris Saint-Germain, LOSC Lille, Lyon**
RUS: Zenit, Lokomotiv Moskva
POR: Benfica
UKR: Shakhtar Donetsk
BEL: Genk
TUR: Galatasaray
AUT: Salzburg*

Teams in bold have qualified subject to final confirmation by UEFA

Six sides coming through qualifying will also participate in the group stage.

Italian champions Juventus will be back next season
Italian champions Juventus will be back next season©Getty Images

• The champions of the six top-ranked nations are guaranteed places in Pot 1 of the group stage draw along with the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League winners.

Pot 1: Liverpool (holders), Chelsea (UEFA Europa League winners), Barcelona, Manchester City, Juventus, Bayern, Paris, Zenit

• Barcelona and Real Madrid have earned record 24th group-stage appearances, while Juventus will become the sixth club to enter for a 20th time.

• Atalanta will make their group stage debut after finishing third in Serie A. It will be their first taste of the competition, the Italian team having never even contested a UEFA Champions League qualifier.