All times are CET

Quarter-finals , 1st leg : 7 April 2011

7 April 2011

7 April 2011 - Quarter-finals
Porto21:05Spartak Moskva
Referee: Serge Gumienny (BEL) – Stadium: Estádio do Dragão, Porto (POR)
7 April 2011 - Quarter-finals
Referee: TBD – Stadium: Estádio do Sport Lisboa e Benfica, Lisbon (POR)
7 April 2011 - Quarter-finals
Referee: TBD – Stadium: Estadio El Madrigal, Villarreal (ESP)
7 April 2011 - Quarter-finals
Dynamo Kyiv21:05Braga
Referee: TBD – Stadium: Valeriy Lobanovskiy Stadium, Kyiv (UKR)

Quarter-finals , 2nd leg : 14 April 2011

14 April 2011

14 April 2011 - Quarter-finals
Spartak Moskva19:00Porto
Referee: TBD – Stadium: Luzhniki Stadion, Moscow (RUS)
14 April 2011 - Quarter-finals
Referee: TBD – Stadium: PSV Stadion, Eindhoven (NED)
14 April 2011 - Quarter-finals
Referee: TBD – Stadium: FC Twente Stadion, Enschede (NED)
14 April 2011 - Quarter-finals
Braga21:05Dynamo Kyiv
Referee: TBD – Stadium: Estádio Municipal de Braga, Braga (POR)
Last updated: 21/04/2011 16:28 CET

Road to the final

The UEFA Europa League comprises three qualifying rounds, a play-off round, a group stage and five knockout rounds.

In matches in the three qualifying rounds and the play-offs, clubs play two matches against each other on a home-and-away basis. The club which scores the greater aggregate of goals qualifies for the next round, with away goals and then penalties used to determine the winner in the event of a draw.

Group stage
The 38 play-off round winners join the ten losers from the UEFA Champions League play-offs. The clubs are split into 12 groups of four teams, playing home and away against each of their pool opponents between September and December. Two sides from each section advance, proceeding into the round of 32 alongside eight third-placed teams from the UEFA Champions League group stage.

Knockout phase
From the last 32 until the semi-finals, clubs play two games against each other on a home-and-away basis with the same rules as the qualifying and play-off rounds applied. In the last 32, group winners and the four third-placed sides from the UEFA Champions League with the best records are seeded, guaranteeing they will play the second leg at home. Teams from the same group or the same association cannot be drawn together. From the round of 16 onwards the draw is free.

The final is decided by a single match, which this season will be played in Dublin on Wednesday 18 May.


Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, can be found in the official competition regulations.