Spain lead U19 elite round seeds

Holders Spain and last season's runners-up Greece could be rematched in the elite round draw streamed live on from Nyon at 11.45CET on Wednesday.

Spain were victorious last season
Spain were victorious last season ©AFP/Getty Images

UEFA European Under-19 Championship holders Spain and last season's runners-up Greece could meet again in the elite round after the seedings were announced for the draw, to be streamed live on from Nyon at 11.45CET on Wednesday.

Following the qualifying round, which ended earlier this week, 25 teams progressed to compete in the second stage next spring alongside three teams seeded to start at this phase: Spain, Serbia and Turkey. The 28 hopefuls have been split into four seeding pots according to their coefficient.

Pot A contains Spain, Serbia, Turkey and the four countries who secured maximum qualifying round points: Austria, the Netherlands, Scotland and Denmark. Among those in Pot B are last season's beaten semi-finalists England and France, while Pot C features Slovakia, who went through as the third-placed side with the best record against the leading pair in their qualifying round group. Greece are one of the seven teams in Pot D.

In the draw, to be made by UEFA Youth and Amateur Committee chairman Jim Boyce and the captain of last season's England squad, Tom Thorpe – who will receive the Fair Play prize on his side's behalf – seven groups will be formed, all consisting of one team apiece from the four seeding pots. No nation may face opponents they played in the qualifying round. The hosts will then be selected for each mini-tournament, and only the group winners will advance to join hosts Lithuania in the finals from 20 July to 1 August.

Draw procedure

Elite round draw seedings

Pot A: Spain (holders), Serbia, Turkey, Austria, Netherlands, Scotland, Denmark

Pot B: Germany, England, Croatia, Ukraine, France, Portugal, Republic of Ireland

Pot C: Czech Republic, Russia, Norway, Poland, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovakia, Belgium

Pot D: Bulgaria, Switzerland, Italy, Greece, Sweden, Georgia, Cyprus