The UEFA technical team

Team of the Tournament





The official website for European football

UEFA technical observers

UEFA technical observers
Stefan Majewski and Ghenadie Scurtul either side of Ioan Lupescu, UEFA's chief technical officer ©Sportsfile

UEFA technical observers

The UEFA technical team at the final tournament in Lithuania comprised two highly respected technicians – Stefan Majewski (Poland) and Ghenadie Scurtul (Moldova). The duo watched the teams in action and collected tactical and technical information, identified developments and analysed trends, discussed technical matters with the coaches, visited training sessions and chose the Team of the Tournament (see left).

Stefan Majewski, from Bydgoszcz (Poland), was capped 40 times by the Polish senior national team, scoring four goals, and took part in the 1982 and 1986 FIFA World Cups in Spain and Mexico respectively. He made his name at home in 250 matches for Legia Warszawa before moving to Germany, where he played for 1. FC Kaiserslautern and DSC Armenia Bielefeld, and also had a spell in Cyprus with Apollon Limassol FC. He moved into coaching after his playing career, and took charge of several Polish clubs, also serving as caretaker coach of the national team. In addition, he has coached the Polish Under-20 and U21 teams. A UEFA technical instructor since May 2012, he became sports director of the Polish Football Association (PZPN) in December of the same year.

Ghenadie Scurtul, from Chisinau (Moldova), obtained his UEFA Pro licence in 2009 after gaining B and A licence diplomas in 2006 and 2007. His playing career included a national title with FC Zimbru Chişinău in 1992, and eight years later he switched from playing to refereeing in Moldova's top flight. In 2003, he became head of the Football Association of Moldova (FMF) youth department, coordinating the national youth teams. He has also served as deputy coach education director and grassroots manager at the association, and became the FMF technical director and federal coaching school director in 2009. Other posts include chairman of the FMF technical development committee (2011), UEFA technical instructor (2012) and member of the UEFA JIRA Panel (2013).