Under-21 EURO 2019: all you need to know

Ten of the 12 finalists are confirmed for the 2019 UEFA European Under-21 Championship.

The final will take place in Udine
The final will take place in Udine ©Getty Images

Who is in the finals?

Italy (hosts)
Croatia (Group 1 winners)
Spain (Group 2 winners)
Denmark (Group 3 winners)
England (Group 4 winners)
Germany (Group 5 winners, holders)
Belgium (Group 6 winners)
Serbia (Group 7 winners)
Romania (Group 8 winners)
France (Group 9 winners)

Two more teams will qualify after November's play-offs: Greece v Austria, Poland v Portugal.

When is the draw?

Watch how Germany won the 2017 U21 title
Watch how Germany won the 2017 U21 title

The final tournament draw is being held in Bologna at 18:00CET on Friday 23 November. The draw will split the 12 teams into three groups of four (A, B, C). Hosts Italy will be placed as team 1 in Group A, with the two best-ranked countries in the UEFA Under-21 national team coefficient rankings positioned as B1 and C1. The remainder of the pots and draw format will be confirmed once the qualifiers are known.

When are the finals?

The 2019 U21 EURO takes place 16–30 June, with matches organised as follows:

Group A: 16, 19, 22 June
Group B: 17, 20, 23 June
Group C: 18, 21, 24 June
Semi-finals: 27 June
Final: 30 June

Where is it being played?

The tournament is being held in Italy and San Marino. The venues will be:

Some games will take place in San Marino
Some games will take place in San Marino©Getty Images

Stadio Renato Dall'Ara, Bologna
Stadio Città del Tricolore, Reggio Emilia
Stadio Dino Manuzzi, Cesena
Stadio Nereo Rocco, Trieste
Stadio Friuli, Udine
San Marino Stadium, Serravalle

What is the format?

The four sides in each group face each other in a round-robin format, with the three group winners advancing to the semi-finals along with the best runner-up. It then becomes a knockout competition. Full explanation can be found in the regulations.

What is the link with the Olympics?

The finals serve as European qualifying for the 2020 Olympic football tournament, with the top four teams booking places in Japan.

Who are the recent winners?

2017: Germany
2015: Sweden
2013: Spain
2011: Spain
2009: Germany