Road to the final

The UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship consists of three distinct stages: two qualifying rounds and the finals.

First qualifying round
The first qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 11 groups of four teams playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each progress, alongside the third-placed team with the best record against the top two in their groups, to join the top seeds.

Second qualifying round
In the second qualifying round, played in early spring, those 24 teams go into six mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners and the runners-up team with the best record against the sides first and third in their pool join the hosts in the finals.

Final tournament
At the final tournament the contenders are split into two groups of four, with the top two progressing to the semi-finals, with the showpiece to follow.


Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the
official competition regulations.